Ipsy – My Monthly Beauty Fix

It’s been just over half a year since I started trying out these so-called subscription boxes. A bit of trial and error was involved, and of course some spending, but not much. After a while, I’ve managed to stick with a few. Those are Julep, which caters mostly to nail color and nail tools/accessories, and Ipsy, in which this post is based on.

The process for subscribing to Ipsy was easy, however, be aware that the service is very popular and in high demand. How so? After filling in my information and taking the beauty quiz to determine what products would be suitable for me, I had to wait a while before having my subscription approved. I actually checked my email history with them, and it took at least a month before I finally received my first shipment. Surprisingly, it wasn’t as long as other pending members who weren’t hesitant to complain about waiting months and still not getting any notice of shipment. In that case, lucky me!

Here’s Ipsy in a nutshell:

  • Once you’ve had your subscription confirmed, a specially designed bag will be delivered every month. Each contains a few items to try out, based on your submissions from the beauty quiz. The number I’ve received has ranged from 4-6.
  • Give the products a whirl, and feel free to rate and/or review them along with your overall experience of the month’s bag on the Ipsy website.
  • If for any reason you have to skip a month, you can do so before the 1st of that month. Be absolutely sure about your decision before taking action! As I mentioned at the beginning of the post, it is a highly popular service. You may have to play the waiting game again should you decide to re-start your subscription.
  • How much does it cost? Only $10/month (before tax and with free shipping)!

 

Here’s a photo of some of the bags and their contents:

ipsy

 

So far, I’ve gotten 6 bags from them consecutively. The brands of the items range from drug store (i.e. NYX, Andrea) to prestige (i.e. Urban Decay, Bare Minerals, Zoya). I’ve had a mix of good and bad in terms of the experience with my subscription. The main issue lately seems to be with the lip products. What looks great in the packaging does not always have the same result when worn! That said, I may try taking the beauty quiz again to better my options for the next month. Overall, this is a great way to try out new cosmetics without leaving a dent in your wallet. It’s been saving money for me so far.

Interested in giving Ipsy a try? Click here to get started, and good luck!

 

Leave a Reply

