SF Restaurant Week 2015

Once a year, select restaurants in the SF area participate in a week long (or in this year’s case, 10 days) event in which you can try out specialized menus designed exclusively for it. Reservations are highly recommended, especially if the place of your interest happens to be popular. This year, 2-course lunch menus were offered for $25, and 3-course dinner menus for $40. New to this year is the “discovery menu”. For $85 and at select locations, it offers a variety of tastings that include food and wine pairings. I was honored to partake of this year’s event with a small group from Gogobot (will have a post about this awesome site and app in the near future). The restaurant of choice was DOSA on Valencia, which specializes in South Indian cuisine. I have visited their other location off of Fillmore a few years ago and enjoyed their food, so I was happy as this would refresh my memory of that day. Our reservations were set for dinner, which consisted of 3 courses:

Course 1 – Minced Chicken Samosa image

I absolutely love samosas, so this was a very quick decision to make. In addition to the chicken, it also had a nice mix of Indian spices, cilantro, onion, and cabbage. The mint and tamarind chutneys for dipping were a nice compliment.

Course 2 – Spinach and Fennel Dosa image

The portion of this savory crepe was nearly enough to kill my appetite before the last course. It came with sambar (a lentil dipping soup) and coconut and tomato chutneys. Made a mistake of biting into a whole chili from the sambar, so my mouth was on fire for a few minutes. Hopefully I don’t ever have to experience that again.

Course 3 – Murgh Malai Korma image

This is chicken with a creamy sauce of spices and tomato. It also came with a side of coconut rice and what looked like a yogurt based sauce. So glad that I chose this because it helped cool down that accidental surge of heat I got from the dosa. For dessert, I split an order of their Bourbon Chestnut gelato (their menu for this changes every so often). It was sweet relief for any remaining heat I had, which wasn’t much, thankfully. Despite that one setback, it was a great experience overall. I will try to come back again, especially since I came across their White Truffle Masala Dosa. I gotta try anything with truffle at least once!

Leave a Reply

