World Nutella Day

I’ve heard of some interesting national food days within the past year, but this one I couldn’t ignore. As a self-proclaimed raging chocoholic, I can still remember my first encounter with this awesome hazelnut spread while in elementary school. A friend shared her croissant with me, and as I took a bite, I realized this wasn’t an old fashioned plain croissant. I asked her what was inside and she said her mom had added Nutella in it. I was fortunate to come across this crazy good croissant “sandwich” a few more times until we graduated.

Since then, it never seemed to cross my mind to look for the stuff until I stumbled upon an ad for it in one of my mom’s Good Housekeeping magazines some time later. I immediately thought to myself, “This is what my friend’s mom used with those croissants!” I soon found myself on a mission to find the stuff, which actually wasn’t very difficult. I also made sure to get the croissants too. My taste buds immediately took me back to my school days, and it made me one happy camper.

Every once in a while I go back to enjoying that treat, but I’ve also used Nutella with other things. Another friend had referred to it as the “bacon of sweets” because it really is such a versatile spread. I have it with fruit, on toast, used it in making cheesecake, tried it as flavored gelato, and as my favorite topping on waffles. Speaking of the latter, I chose to observe this worldwide celebration by having one at Coupa Cafe in Palo Alto (called the PJ’s Waffle). It’s one of the fluffiest Belgian style waffles I ever had, and it’s topped with bananas, strawberries, and of course Nutella. The side of maple syrup that came with wasn’t used. It’s really not necessary when it looks and tastes so good as is. My mouth’s watering just thinking about it! Did any of you celebrate today as well? If so, hope it was pheNOMenal.

The PJ's Waffle
The PJ’s Waffle

2 thoughts on “World Nutella Day

    • lehea1212 February 5, 2015 / 10:16 pm

      It sure was! They offer so many other things at that cafe, but I always end up ordering this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

