Check This Out – Gogobot

I’ve mentioned Gogobot in a few posts and wanted to take a moment to explain what it is. After being a member for several years, I consider it one of my top resources to use for travel. You can access Gogobot via their website or mobile app, which is available for iOS or Android. When planning out a trip, especially if it’s some place I haven’t been to before, this takes away some of the guess work when finding out information. I can even ask questions about what places I should check out or good places to eat around the area, and other Gogobot members or friends of mine that are on there will leave me recommendations. I can then save these suggestions on a to-do list, and even create a customized guide of what I’ve seen during my trip that others can use as a reference. When using the app, you can document your trip by uploading photos (aka postcards) and putting in a sentence or two about where you’ve been.

Aside from being a personal travel planner, you can also discover new places a round where you live by checking out local events that are listed on both platforms weekly. If you’re interested in meeting other Gogobot members, check for any community events that are posted on the website. I’ve come across a few new faces each time I attended one, and always had a good time. There are also some perks you can receive for signing up to be a member. After submitting a certain amount of post cards with reviews (again no need for a novel, just a few sentences will do), you can earn Pro status. Additional small events are often held that are exclusive to Pros. They also have a system where you can accumulate points for rating and/or reviewing places. I’ve received some free swag once I reached a set amount of points.

So far, Gogobot has communities in various cities across the US and one in London and will more than likely continue to expand. Give it a whirl if you’re curious. Who knows, you just might like it.

Here are some screen shots from the app:

Some highlights of the community events I’ve attended. They do have ones that don’t involve food, but really, who doesn’t love it?!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

