Check This Out – Anaheim Packing District

One of my friends who was also in SoCal last weekend had informed me about this “communal gathering place” in downtown Anaheim. I was determined to check it out once I saw her glorious food photos on Instagram. The Packard Building is home to the Anaheim Brewery and an Umami Burger location. The Packing House has a 2-level communal dining area and over 20 places for food and drink. There’s even a stage for live performances, which happen every weekend. Connecting the two buildings is Farmers Park. Here visitors can experience a farmers market every Sunday. It also hosts outdoor movie nights (aka Farmers Park Flicks), an annual Halloween Parade Float viewing, and a German Christmas Market. How cool is that?

Although I was only able to get a good look at the Packing House, I enjoyed some great food here.

The Kroft

wpid-locomocopoutine.jpg

My friend had recommended trying their Loco Moco poutine, which happened to be one of the specials when I visited. Just looking at it, the portion is big enough for sharing. Seriously, I was barely able to get through half of it! They also serve other kinds of poutine and made to order sandwiches.

Popbar

wpid-popbar.jpg

This place is really busy during the weekend. The line literally wrapped around and went outside of the building despite the rain on Saturday night. I planned to return before I headed home on Monday. Sure enough there was no line. Choose from their all natural gelato, sorbetto, or yogurt on a stick, and make it your own with an assortment of chocolate coating and dry toppings. I ordered a green tea gelato bar and had it half dipped in dark chocolate, then topped with almonds. Yes, it was pheNOMenal. Currently Anaheim and New York City are the only locations in the US.

Hans’ Homemade Ice Cream

No photo shown because I forgot to take one (whoops). This Orange County based company has been around since 1972. Their lineup features both traditional and new flavor combinations. I had a scoop of their Salted Caramel, which granted immediate satisfaction for my sweet tooth.

A few more photos from inside the Packing House

I highly recommend paying this place a visit if you’d like to take a break from being around the Disney Parks or just want more of a local experience. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. For more information, you may visit their page here.

 

One thought on “Check This Out – Anaheim Packing District

Leave a Reply

