Hello Kitty Cafe Truck Visits the Bay Area

It’s been quite another interesting Saturday. Why? I’ve been up since near 7 this morning to head over to Japantown. This weekend kicks off the Cherry Blossom Festival in SF, but that actually wasn’t what I was in the area for. Nope, it was to see the Hello Kitty Cafe truck make its way to the Bay Area for the first time ever. I give myself a nice pat on the back for checking beforehand where the truck was going to be located. The HK Cafe account on Facebook and Twitter didn’t go into specific details, but the best estimate came from the SF Cherry Blossom Festival site itself. I was close enough to where the spot was when a group of 3 girls walked by and stopped where I was. I asked if they were here for the truck, to which they all replied “Yes”. That’s where the line and the wait for the truck began. It arrived about an hour before it was scheduled to open, and soon the line was growing longer by the minute. Several visitors to the festival walked up to the truck to take photos of it. There were even reporters from a local news station and newspaper on hand to interview the truck workers and people in line. I’m pretty sure I overheard some passersby ask what the big deal was with the whole thing. There are currently only 2 locations for the Hello Kitty Cafe. They’re in Seoul South Korea and coming soon to Orange County, CA (first US location). This is not to be mistaken for the Sanrio Cafe, which has several locations in Asia and one in Hawaii. So yes, it really is a big deal.

Just a few minutes after 10am, one of the workers approaches me and asks if I’m the first in line. I tell her yes, to which she replied, “Come on down!” Cheers from the crowd in line emerged as I made my way over to place my order. I couldn’t help but laugh at the craziness surrounding this pink truck full of Hello Kitty themed food and merchandise. Of course, I didn’t get stuff just for myself. I got a few other things to surprise a friend for their birthday, and another friend excitedly texted me while I was in line to get something for her. She obviously saw my post about it. 😛

Waiting for the arrival = Just over 2 hours

Cost of 2 water bottles, 2 boxes of macarons, 1 box of petit fours, and 1 box of donuts = $61 (USD)

Being the first in line for the Hello Kitty Cafe truck’s debut in Northern California = priceless

There’s still time to check out the truck if you’re in the Bay Area:

SF Cherry Blossom Festival (corner of Post and Webster Streets)

Sunday April 11 from 10:00am – 5:00pm

Saturday April 18 from 10:00am  – 5:00pm

Santana Row in San Jose

Sunday April 19 from 10:00am – 5:00pm

4 thoughts on “Hello Kitty Cafe Truck Visits the Bay Area

  1. Chelsea Davis April 4, 2016 / 7:19 pm

    I would have done the same thing! In fact, I might have just bought the truck out haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

