Studio Calico Classroom – Love Your Lettering

Last month, I enrolled in a lettering class with Studio Calico. I’ve always been a fan of cursive writing since I was in elementary school. I still see it as the fastest way for me to jot down anything, especially if I’m in a time crunch. The class covered some basic lettering styles, and later on adding variation to those styles and using them in a more artistic manner. Lessons and videos were released about twice a week. It was challenging at the beginning using those lined practice sheets and keeping my lettering within those lines, but I eventually got the hang of it. With practice during and beyond the class, I’ll probably use what I’ve learned in future spreads with my Project Life and Smash Book.

Practice (basics sheet), practice (lettering styles sheets), practice (adding variation).

One of the last lessons was building a quote and digitizing it in Adobe Illustrator. I most likely will not use the latter since I don’t have the software on my computer. I chose a quote from the movie Up for this lesson.

wpid-lyladventure.jpg

Despite a bit of a rocky start, I thought the class was fun and informative overall. It’s not easy trying to do fancy lettering when you’re left handed! I’ve thought about learning calligraphy too at some point, but I’ll focus on improving my skills here for the time being.

4 thoughts on “Studio Calico Classroom – Love Your Lettering

  1. stashmatters April 28, 2015 / 12:21 pm

    This class sounds like torture for me. I do try to have better penmanship but most of the time it’s terrible. I had to do Chinese calligraphy in school and I wasn’t very good at it (although I love the smell of that ink).
    I feel for lefties, it’s a tough tough world out there! I tried teaching my left handed friend how to knit and we both gave up.
    Nice job with the “Up” quote!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed April 28, 2015 / 12:31 pm

      Thanks! Totally feel you with the penmanship thing. My writing isn’t that great, and being a lefty, I tend to be picky about the pens I use so I don’t get ink on the side of my hand.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Chelsea Davis May 10, 2015 / 7:57 pm

    What a cool talent to have! I don’t think my writing will ever be thatttt nice, but sounds like a great class to take regardless!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed May 10, 2015 / 9:56 pm

      I wasn’t sure what to expect from a writing class, but this one was fun. Still practicing though!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

