Mad About Macarons

Did you know that May 31st is National Macaron Day? Call me early to the celebration, but you really don’t need a specific day to indulge in these awesome sweets. Ever since I received some as a birthday present from my best friend a few years ago, I’ve been hooked. There’s only one thing about them that bugs me. Every once in a while, I see the name being interchanged with “macaroon”. Apologies for the following food snobbery, but there is a big difference between the two. HUGE.

wpid-2015-05-14-20.59.35.jpg.jpeg

Just in appearance alone, a macaron is most definitely not a macaroon. And the recipes for both are also different. I can only assume that if someone says they ate a macaroon, then they ate a chewy coconut cookie. Pics or it didn’t happen! XD I had a random afternoon craving for some yesterday and happened to be near a bakery that sold them. I got one Mango/Passionfruit  and one Coffee. I’d usually get more, but these ones were about the size of my palm.

NOM.
NOM.

I usually look for Mango or Passionfruit flavored ones when I buy them, and also Salted Caramel. I’ve tried several variations of that flavor, both with buttercream and ganache filling. My current favorite Salted Caramel macaron is from Miette. Here are a few other places where I’ve purchased them.

At one point, I had gathered a small collection of macaron boxes. Of course I made sure to document it before disposing of them.

wpid-20150417_155154-1.jpg

As silly as it may sound, I even have a wish list of places I’d like to try. Ladurée and Bottega Louie are 2 that I keep hearing about, so they’re definitely on there. For someone that has their sweet tooth tendencies, I’ve had my share of “sugar phases” and will love macarons no matter how over hyped they get. They’re the next best thing to chocolate, but that’s just my opinion. 😉

4 thoughts on “Mad About Macarons

  1. shayplay May 15, 2015 / 4:42 pm

    my stomach totally just did the vicious growl from the depths of the sweet part of my soul

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Simple Beginner May 16, 2015 / 1:06 am

    That is one large macaron! YUM! And no I didn’t know it was National Macaron Day (even though it might not be celebrated here) but yay. I’ll buy plenty of them and eat it all myself haha.
    Having a macaron wishlist isn’t silly at all 😀 It’s an awesome idea!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed May 16, 2015 / 11:30 am

      I didn’t know about it either until I saw a friend post about it. Haha, yes that one I bought is way bigger than the ones I usually get. I’ll surely get more on the actual day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

