RCubed in NOLA – Part 1

I’m excited to share my experience last week in New Orleans. A friend and former college roommate of mine had decided to celebrate her birthday this year by going on a trip. So we, along with her husband, 3 other friends, and a baby, headed to The Big Easy for 3 days. This will be a 2 part post due to the large amount of photos included.

I flew in to NOLA Wednesday afternoon with the roommate and her husband. As soon as we stepped off the plane, I could already feel the weather was much different than SF. I had been warned about how humid it could get over there, but it actually wasn’t so bad.

wpid-msy.jpg
View of the airport from the car rental building.

We waited for the rest of our group, who came within a half hour and an hour after us, then hopped into our huge Chevy Tahoe and headed to the hotel. Our room at the Marriott Residence Inn had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a sofabed, and an added roll away bed with room to spare. After freshening up, it was off to Bourbon Street for dinner. Most of us were pretty much starving since we ate light before and during our flights over. We had our first taste of NOLA at Acme Oyster House. I ordered their seafood etouffee with a side of fried crawfish tails and their Boo Fries. I heard about the fries while I was watching a segment for New Orleans on The Food Network. Think of it as their version of poutine. The fries were topped with beef, gravy, and cheese. So good, as with everything else I ordered. One item that I didn’t get to photograph was their charbroiled oysters. This is the most popular item on their menu. I usually take my oysters raw, but I will gladly see this as a tasty exception.

We watched the Warriors game during dinner and were one of the last parties to leave the restaurant after it closed. It was cool that the employees were rooting for them as well. What an awesome place to be at for their win! Dessert was yet to be had, so we walked over to Cafe du Monde for some beignets and a frozen cafe au lait. Perfect combo to top off the first night in NOLA. We each ordered a plate, and I felt bad that I barely got half way through mine. 3 pieces may not sound like much, but they’re a pretty good size. I ended up wrapping the last one in a napkin and nibbled on it heading back to the car.

wpid-beignets.jpg
Frozen cafe au lait and beignets. NOM

Thursday gave our group a chance to explore parts of the city nearby and the French Quarter. 3 of us headed to District in the morning to get breakfast. Loved how it had a table on the outside made out of locker doors! The inside was just as impressive. I got myself a Whiskey Ginger donut and Nitro cold brew coffee. I was surprised I could tolerate the flavor of it with no need to add cream or sugar. It made me wish I had gotten the larger size! 😛 Their donut menu rotates daily, and they also serve donut sandwiches (no joke) all day. I’ll have to try their sliders the next time I’m back in town.

After eating and getting ready, we left the car at the hotel and took the streetcar to the French Quarter. $3 (USD) gets you an all day pass to use on any of the lines the streetcar runs on. It also gives you a chance to take in the scenery. Got a shot of one of their bridges from it.

We checked out the French Market and purchased souvenirs to bring home. Some of my friends tried the grilled corn from one of the food vendors, which I was told was really good. I, however, was on a mission to get the famous Muffuletta sandwich from Central Grocery and Deli. It contains 3 different kinds of deli meat, 2 types of cheese, and olive salad. The first bite was heavenly. I had one of the group try it and they made sure to get one before we headed home on Saturday.

We took in the sights along the way down Decatur Street, then stopped at Jackson Square. Here you’ll find a statue of Andrew Jackson, for whom the park is named. Behind it is the Saint Louis Cathedral, one of the oldest cathedrals in the U.S. The buildings on each side of the cathedral are the Presbytere and Cabildo, which are now Louisiana State Museums.

We had early reservations for dinner, so we hurried back to the hotel to rest, which unfortunately wasn’t very long. Jacques-Imo’s was our dinner destination for the 2nd night. It was about a 15 minute drive from the hotel to get there, but it took a bit longer due to some traffic. Luckily we didn’t have to wait despite surpassing our reservation time. Warm cornbread muffins were served immediately after we were seated. Things got a little experimental when we ordered appetizers of garlic snails over trofie pasta and the shrimp and alligator sausage cheesecake. I was the only one from the group that had tried both escargot and alligator (on separate occasions, obviously), so I wasn’t having any second thoughts unlike the rest. Heheh! But sure enough, everyone enjoyed both of them. The cheesecake looked more like a quiche, and it was amazing. I can see why it’s a highly recommended item. I ordered the fried chicken as my main course. Very flavorful and juicy. Now I can say that I’ve had real Southern fried chicken. It’s pheNOMenal!

Had enough yet? Mouth watering, maybe? Stay tuned for Part 2!

8 thoughts on “RCubed in NOLA – Part 1

  1. sunriseandseashells June 4, 2015 / 2:53 pm

    so much delicious food! I’m so jealous and hope you are enjoying or enjoyed your trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed June 4, 2015 / 4:00 pm

      Trust me when I say I had a list of places to check off. Lots more to take care of the next time I’m there! I flew back to SF last Saturday.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. stashmatters June 4, 2015 / 7:26 pm

    omg the FOOD. That’s what it’s ALL about when it comes to travelling, isn’t it?! 😛
    Whisky Ginger donut sounds divine… warm cornbread muffins… drool.
    What does alligator taste like? Don’t say chicken…!
    New Orleans is definitely a must-see US city for me – the culture and food look amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. naomiinwonderland June 5, 2015 / 1:43 am

    Oh gosh everything looks delicious! I keep on hearing great things about NOLA, I’d love to go one day

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed June 5, 2015 / 9:57 am

      I had to jump on the opportunity since other friends have been there in the past and enjoyed it. More good eats coming up in Part 2!

      Like

Leave a Reply

