All Dressed Up With Someplace to Go: Cosplay at SDCC

If there’s one thing that adds to the geek aesthetic of Comic Con, it’s the cosplay. A combination of the words “costume” and “play”, cosplay are basically the costumes that one would see roaming inside and outside the Convention Center during the event. They range anywhere from popular TV or movie characters to ones from Japanese anime. The possibilities are endless when it comes to cosplay. Here’s a few photos of myself and other attendees who decided to dress for the occasion.

In 2010, I was Tifa Lockhart from Final Fantasy VII. Although a pretty simple costume, it was made out of faux leather material, which would get HOT while walking outside. It wasn’t one of the more familiar costumes. Heck, you wouldn’t really know about it unless you played their video games! But I did get noticed a few times, which was cool.

I also dressed up as Lara Croft from Tomb Raider. Another simple costume, and the gun holsters were just badass! I had to get the guns checked before heading inside the exhibit hall.

wpid-fb_img_1435442291719.jpg
Photo-op with a LEGO Bionicle

That same year, a friend of mine dressed up as Michael Jackson in honor of him passing away the month before. Although he was nervous about it, my other friends and I told him it would be awesome if he did. Sure enough, he was stopped every few minutes to take a photo. I had to laugh because he didn’t practice his moves and someone challenged him to a dance off. Who is The King of Pop without the dancing?! Before watching panels in Hall H that morning, another person dressed as MJ’s character in Captain EO took a picture with him. That same guy has worn it every year following. Despite a few tweaks here and there, that costume is practically timeless (well, to those of us who know about Captain EO, that is.

My friend as MJ from Thriller with his character from Captain EO.
My friend as MJ from Thriller with his character from Captain EO.

In the following years, I’ve gone again as Tifa, and also Maka from Soul Eater. The latter is still my most popular costume to date. I’m still amazed at how many people actually watched that show. Then again, it’s difficult not to notice someone walking around carrying a scythe. Just sayin’. I even ran into some well known cosplayers that I’ve seen on social media. Vampy just happened to be giving away pins while on the exhibit floor one day, so I was able to meet her and catch a quick photo before she was on her way. She’s come a long way in developing her costumes, but her Lady Punisher is still one of my favorites.

Vampy strikes a post with a fellow cosplayer.
Vampy strikes a post with a fellow cosplayer.

Here’s a few more photos I got during past SD Comic Cons.

Aside from those kinds of cosplay, some focused on pop culture. As I mentioned earlier, there really is no limit to what people end up wearing at Comic Con.

I’m currently in the finishing stages with the one I’ll be wearing this year. I don’t plan on throwing many hints out there about it, but I will be sure to include the full get up in a future post. Cosplay, whether it be creative or casual, is an absolute fun factor of SDCC. I can’t wait to see what people come up with for this year. I’m going to cap off this post with a photo of an awesome battle pose I randomly caught before heading out of the convention center for the day.

Superman and Dead(pool)mau5 duke it out.
Superman and Dead(pool)mau5 duke it out.

If you’ve been to events like this or similar to it in the past, what kind of cosplays caught your attention? Feel free to share in the comments.

Leave a Reply

