Tagged: Must Have Beauty Tools

Here’s a tag that I came across on Alice’s Wonderland. I often oversee what implements I use when putting on makeup, so here’s an opportunity to show off what I reach for the most.

Rules:

  • Tag up to 5 people and let them know you tagged them.
  • List what you want, whether you have three things that are unbelievable or twenty.
  • No actual make-up, skincare, or haircare products on the list, just the tools/gadgets you use.

My beauty tool arsenal:

For foundation: I either use a foundation brush or a dampened round sponge when I apply it. If I use the brush, I use the sponge to blend in any noticeable lines. This brush is by Mary Kay.

wpid-20150630_211209-1.jpg

For concealer: I use a concealer brush to apply it, and then either use it or my ring finger to blend. This is from Target’s generic brand (now Up & Up) that I picked up years ago.

wpid-20150630_210809.jpg

For shadow: I often rotate through my shadow brushes since I have more than a handful of them. These ones by EcoTools (lid), Crown (lid and crease), and Sephora (blending) are my favorites.

wpid-20150630_210621.jpg
Top to bottom: Sephora blending eye brush, EcoTools full eye shadow brush, Crown C491 Duo Fiber Shadow/Crease brush

For powder: My absolute favorite is the retractable kabuki brush by EcoTools. I still have to purchase a replacement since the one I currently have finally came apart from the metal case. In the mean time, I’ve been using their Mattifying Finish brush.

wpid-20150509_155207.jpg

For blush: I have yet to upgrade to the brush from Real Techniques since it’s gotten some positive reviews. Until then, I continue to use this one from Studio Basics.

wpid-20150630_210828.jpg

For lips: I only use a lip brush if I’m using a highly pigmented or red lip color. This one is from Sonia Kashuk.

wpid-20150630_211734-1.jpg

For brows: Either a brow groomer (this one’s from EcoTools) or well cleaned mascara brush or toothbrush can spruce things up when your brows become unruly.

wpid-20150630_211539-1.jpg

For eyeliner: I can’t use an angled brush to save my life when applying gel liner. Thank goodness Sonia Kashuk has this bent eyeliner brush. It’s made the process practically foolproof for me.

For mascara: Unless you have naturally long and curled lashes (luuucky), it’s a must to have a great eyelash curler. This one by Shu Uemura is currently my holy grail. However, a friend had given me the gun metal one from Shiseido for my birthday earlier this year, so it’s a very close second. I remove any clumps after application with this lash comb by Japonesque.

wpid-20150630_211009-1.jpg
Shiseido (left) and Shu Uemura eyelash curlers, Japonesque lash comb

Show me your tools!  (Feel free to disregard the tag if you’ve been chosen before):

Kayla Bae

Wonderblush

The Bambi Eyes

Beauty With Whitney

Mrs Strawberry Blonde

9 thoughts on “Tagged: Must Have Beauty Tools

  1. Whitney July 1, 2015 / 4:14 pm

    Thanks for sharing and tagging – a lot of my tools are similar! (I like Mary Kay and ecotools, as well.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. stashmatters July 1, 2015 / 7:11 pm

    That Studio Basic blush brush has a nice shape to it. You may find that the RT blush brush to be a good supplement to it rather than replacing it since the RT is MASSIVE. It doesn’t apply blusher in precise placement, here’s a comparison – not my pic:

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed July 2, 2015 / 6:26 am

      Yeh I’ve looked at it in the store on a few occassions, but it’s never been enough to convince me to buy because of the size. The one next to it seems like a better fit.

      Liked by 1 person

      • stashmatters July 2, 2015 / 7:01 am

        Unfortunately they don’t sell the Multi-tasker brush alone – it’s part of the Travel Essentials kit!

        Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed July 7, 2015 / 11:50 am

      Thank you! Will work on this when I get back.

      Like

Leave a Reply

