My Gastronomic Adventures in San Diego

While I was in San Diego last month for Comic Con, not only was I trying to cram in as many events as possible, I was also on a mission to try out more food places. Very happy to have crossed a few off my to-eat list. Of course, there’s still lots more left to discover. Pic heavy post coming right up!

This has been the 3rd straight year that I’ve kicked off my Comic Con experience with a stop at Donut Bar the morning prior to Preview Night. Can’t really beat visiting around this time since they have Marvel, DC, and geek themed donuts during the week of the event. Even the employees dress up for the occasion.

When it would be time to grab a bite during the convention, I’d head over to Petco Park’s Interactive Zone since they had several food trucks. Day 1’s stop was Salt + Lime, which featured authentic Mexican food. If you’ve ever or never been to San Diego, this stuff is on point! Had their Al Pastor and Carne Asada tacos, and a Nutella Chimichanga for dessert.

Lunch on Day 3 came from Super Q. Everything on their menu looks good, but I ended up ordering their Brisket Melt (All their melt sandwiches have mac n cheese in them. Crazy!). No regrets here.

wpid-superq.jpg

My final truck visit on Day 4 was at Currywurst. Per a friend’s recommendation, I ordered their Polski Dog, which had kielbasa, German red cabbage, sauteed onions, and honey mustard. It’s unlike any Polish sausage or hot dog I’ve ever tried.

The Polski Dog
The Polski Dog

The last dinner I had with my SDCC group before everyone left to travel home the following day was at Bub’s @ The Ballpark. Some of us were highly craving tater tots, and this place has several variations of them. They even have them as dessert (sadly, no one decided to try them). My order of Tater Skin Tots hit the spot after a few rounds during happy hour at Altitude.

wpid-img_20150712_202837.jpg

Before dropping off the friends that I roomed with during Con, we had lunch at Phil’s BBQ. I’ve been curious about this place for some time, and friends that had tried it had positive feedback. One said that it didn’t really compare to the original location in Mission Hills. But you know what? Anything close to it is fine by me. I ordered the quarter rib plate, which was more than enough to fill me up. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender and absolutely pheNOMenal. We all had leftovers, which were taken home back to SF with the others.

Once I was settled near Mira Mesa for the remainder of my stay, I made dinner plans with another friend. They suggested Kula Sushi, and I dared not say no. Again, the local buds had spoken about and liked it. Plus at $2.25/plate (otherwise specified on the menu), I didn’t have much to lose.

Slightly different from other revolving sushi places I’ve seen, the conveyor belt brings them around with sealed plastic covers. The only way you can take the plate is by a slight pull/tilt motion that opens up the cover.

Orders can also be placed via touch screens that are at every booth in case you want anything extra (e.g. miso soup or ramen) or want other sushi not on the revolving belt. In under 2 minutes, your request is sent to you via another conveyor belt located above the revolving one. Check out the video I took of it below.

I took advantage of this on both my visits here (Yep, took another friend here for lunch before I flew back to SF since they haven’t been yet.). I even managed to make room for dessert and ordered mochi ice cream from it. I also tried my friend’s order of soy milk donuts. They came with a scoop of ice cream and weren’t dense. Good stuff!

wpid-soymilkdonuts.jpg

The following morning, I met up with some other SD friends and had breakfast at Breakfast Republic. It’s currently been open for a few months, and I’ve heard before my visit that the food was great. I definitely believe it! I recommend either the Breakfast Mac ‘n Cheese with Jurassic Pork bacon (how cool of a name is that for bacon?!) and their pancake flight. There’s a few flavors to choose from for the latter. My friend ordered theirs with the Bacon, Oreo Cookie, and Cinnamon Roll pancakes. Ah-mazing! I hope to head back here again soon.

And for my last evening in San Diego, a small group of us had dinner at Slater’s 50/50. I’m a fan of their 50/50 burger (half of the patty is bacon), but decided this time to try something different. I made myself a custom burger (you can name them too) with my usual Nutella shake.

The longer the trip I have down here, the more places I get to try. I’ll be back in a few months to hopefully knock out a few more. Will be sure to feature them in another post! 😀

4 thoughts on “My Gastronomic Adventures in San Diego

  1. fowlalpha August 28, 2015 / 10:50 pm

    I always end up swallowing upon seeing these. Makes me want to go on a Saturday. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. stashmatters August 30, 2015 / 5:45 pm

    YUMMM!
    I’ve always wanted to eat at a sushi place with a conveyor belt! There’s a place in town but it’s expensive. $2.25 / plate is amazing!
    And cinnamon roll pancake? ahhhh! Need to try that before I die.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed August 30, 2015 / 6:00 pm

      They also have a churro flavor, but I think the cook screwed up and combined it with the cinnamon roll. Pretty much had the best of both worlds. So good!

      Liked by 1 person

      • stashmatters August 30, 2015 / 6:01 pm

        OMG CHURRO flavour, I’m booking a flight tomorrow to SD to eat that! I love churros and will eat it anytime I see a stand!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

