Japan Crate Mini, Volumes 6 & 7

One box subscription that I’ve managed to stick with from last year is from Japan Crate. Their boxes consist of various types of Japanese snacks that are sent out monthly. I’ve been subscribed to their Mini crate since November, and have been seriously enjoying it. This will be a double review since I didn’t get a chance to finish trying everything from December’s box until last week.

Mini Crate, Volume 6

20151212_160530-1.jpg

What’s inside:

  • Fujiya lollipops – The bag contained 4 flavors: strawberry, grape, apple, and orange. Loved them all!
  • Yaokin Umaibo – These are puffed corn sticks (think of an oversized Cheetos puff). I got them in cheese, veggie salad, and tonkatsu (pork cutlet) flavors. Again, loved all of them. Surprisingly I saw these the other day at Nijiya Market. They’re sold in packs of 10 for around $5.
  • Bad Kid Beer – Beer in a packet. I know what you’re thinking! Nope, definitely not beer, and not too bad either. It was more like a grape flavored fizzy drink. Contents of the packet were added to water then mixed. Simple enough.
  • Awa Moco Moco – Another drink mix packet. This one was banana flavored. I instantly thought, “Ugh, this is going to taste artificial.” Again, the contents was mixed with water. The end result was a fizzy drink with a slight foam on top. The taste was definitely artificial, but not overwhelming.
screenshot_2016-02-18-09-50-16.png
Awa Moco Moco, Banana

 

Mini Crate, Volume 7

20160119_165507-1.jpg

What’s Inside:

  • Calbee potato chips, Usushi Oasi – These chips were lightly salted. Very light and crisp with good flavor. Another gem I happened to stumble upon at Nijiya. I plan on eventually trying out a few more flavors.
  • Strawberry Shortcake Ju-C – This tube of round wafer candy reminded me of oversized Smarties (US version).
  • Hello Kitty Strawberry Pretzel – Just like Pocky, which I’m already a fan of. This was opened and devoured immediately.
  • Asahi Calpis Gummy – These sugar coated jelly filled gummies taste just like the famous Japanese drink, also known as Calpico. NOM.
  • Milk Chocolate Pocky – Saved my already established favorite for last! Just like its Hello Kitty predecessor, it was quickly put away.

I pay $12/month for the Mini Crate, which includes free shipping (within the US). I’m currently working/munching on the contents of this month’s box. You would think 4-6 items would be easy to get through, especially since this is the smallest box they offer. But hey, good reviews ought to take some time to formulate, or in this case digest. Heheh! In the mean time, feel free to visit Japan Crate to see what else they offer in their monthly boxes.

2 thoughts on “Japan Crate Mini, Volumes 6 & 7

    • RCubed February 19, 2016 / 10:53 pm

      I never know what’s inside until I open them. Some blogs have posted spoilers, but I don’t check them out. I like being surprised!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

