Japan Crate Mini, Volume 11

I received 4 snack items and 1 candy item in this box, plus a toy bonus.

20160516_180920.jpg
Clockwise from top left: Calbee French Salad potato chips, Kitty Cup, Puku Puku Taichoco, Sour Cider Gum, Big Bar Z White Choco, Mochitto Minako Mochi

What’s inside:

Big Bar Z: White Choco – The shape of this reminded me of a churro, with a crispy wafer-like texture. And it has white chocolate inside. Not a big fan of the stuff, but it was tasty.

Calbee French Salad potato chips – Modeled after the nicoise salad, the taste of these is similar to that of salt and vinegar, but not too strong. I liked it.

Mochitto Kinako Mochi – Kinako is a roasted soy flour, which is what covers this slightly sweet mochi. So good! I wish the portion could have been bigger.

Puku Puku Taichoco – The phrase “pukupuku” refers to the sound of fish gulping. This large wafer resembles the popular taiyaki, which is a fish-shaped dessert that often contains a red bean filling. This one contained chocolate cream filling. Delish!

Sour Cider Gum – Japan Crate is back at it again with another cider flavored item. It definitely had a slightly tart flavor, but wasn’t too sour. And surprisingly it lasted longer than the other types of gum I’ve received from past boxes.

*bonus* Kitty Cup – Gachapon, or vending machine capsule toys, can be found just about anywhere in Japan. Every box shipped had one with a kitten inside a mug. Can we say kawaii?

Good variety with this box. I’m just about finished eating through Volume 12, so stay tuned for another review!

3 thoughts on “Japan Crate Mini, Volume 11

  1. stashy June 20, 2016 / 11:26 am

    Good to know there’s a name for those vending machine toys! I LOVED those! I got a few keychains lol, so ridiculously cute.
    I’ll have to look into getting a subscription of this…

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed June 20, 2016 / 11:42 am

      I always wondered what that word meant, but now I know. There are quite a few subscription boxes like these out there. I’d compare prices and check whether or not they charge shipping to Canada. I’ve been loving this one more than any other box I’ve subscribed to. You never know what you’ll get!

      Like

Leave a Reply

