Japan Crate Mini, Volume 12

Volume 12 had a nice variety of sweet and savory items and 1 candy item.

What’s inside:

20160607_171727-1.jpg

Choco Shinamikonja Imashita – The name means “to be soaked in chocolate”. These wafer-like, pillow shaped crackers were very chocolaty. I love anything chocolate, so I finished this first.

 

Corn Potage Puffs – Based off of a popular sweet corn soup in Japan, these puffs taste just like it, except crispy. I’m not always fond of sweet corn, but I’ll admit these were good.

 

Nagai Sour Gummy – This long gummy rope was orange flavored. As for being sour, I didn’t really notice it. Regardless of that, it was still darn tasty.

 

Super Heart Chiple – Heart shaped chips? Adorable! These were a yakiniku (meaning “grilled meat”) barbecue flavor. It tasted just like what you’d have at a Japanese bbq restaurant, except without having to cook it yourself or reek of smoke after eating.

 

Tonkotsu Sauce Umaibo – I’ve received this puff stick snack in a previous crate, so I knew I’d like this. It really did taste just like the sauce that’s served with tonkotsu, which is a deep fried pork chop commonly served in Japanese cuisine. Yum.

 

Once again everything in this box was great. It actually didn’t take as long for me to go through everything since all the items tasted good. Have any Japanese snack recommendations while I wait on the next Japan Crate? Feel free to let me know.

Leave a Reply

