Cruisin’ Alaska and BC – Part 2

Part 1 of my trip can be found here.

The ship didn’t have a port of call for Day 5. It was to sail through the Tracy Arm Fjord, but had to take a detour due to high ice density in the water. Instead, it took another route through Endicott Arm, and stopped briefly at the Dawes Glacier. I managed to see a few pieces of floating ice as we approached the glacier. On either side of the ship, you could see waterfalls along the mountains. Beautiful! A good number of people came to the end of the ship as it faced the glacier. This was even closer than the view I had of the Mendenhall one a few days ago. The experience would have been better if it weren’t for the rainy weather.

After warming up and having lunch, my mom and I checked out and ice skating show at the ship’s ice rink. Later was the second formal dinner night. The swell of the ocean caused the ship to rock a little, but unfortunately it was enough to make me feel a bit dzzy. Dramamine to the rescue! I was able to make it through the evening so that my family and I could check out the 60s and 70s dance party in one of the ship’s lounges.

 

Day 6 was spent at sea again as we made our way towards Canada. I woke up feeling much better from the night before, but could have ran late for the sushi making class I signed up for. Luckily I made it. In fact, I was the first person there. They had announced over the PA system that there would be a time change, so I wondered if that might have been the reason why the others were a bit late. A chef from the ship’s Japanese Restaurant Izumi taught our group how to make 2 rolls (California and Crispy Shrimp roll), ebi (shrimp) nigiri, and a hand roll. I had taken a sushi making class a few years ago, so I had remembered certain parts about putting some of these together. Of course, once we were done making our masterpieces, we were able to sit down together and eat them. I had a blast and also met fellow cruisers. One of them and I passed by another ship lounge before heading our separate ways. She showed me the ship’s pool view and also told me about viewing the Northern Lights as I mentioned in my previous post. I later took my family so that they could also check it out. I actually forgot to pack a swimsuit (D’oh!), but it wasn’t a big deal since the weather made me feel too cold most of the time to go in there.

 

 

 

Victoria, British Columbia was our port of call for Day 7. It was my fist time in Canada! A photo-op of the welcome sign was a must. Our excursion that day was a visit to Butchart Gardens. My mom had actually been there before, but it was the first time for myself and the rest of my family. There are 5 gardens that can be seen, but due to our limited time there, we were only able to see 4.

 

My favorite parts were the Sunken Garden and Japanese Garden. After walking around for a good while, I stopped at the Gelato Benvenuto for a treat before heading to their shop to pick up souvenirs. During the summer months, the live performances can be seen at their concert stage, and a nearby field puts on fireworks displays. I loved seeing so many different flowers that aren’t common here in California. I wish I had held on to the pamphlet I was given so I could figure out what they are after looking at the photos I took. I later found out that the gardens are lit up at night since they close a bit late. Hopefully I can plan another trip here to experience it.

 

 

 

I wandered around the ship later in the afternoon and finally got myself a drink of the day, which changed with each day of the cruise. The appropriately titled BC’s Breeze had orange and pineapple juices with Captain Morgan rum, grenadine, and blackberry brandy, served in a keepsake glass. I happily sipped on it before the ship pulled away from the dock to head back to Seattle. It was a little bittersweet in the evening as we had our last dinner in the dining room. The staff sang a farewell song to us and we thanked our personal servers for a great experience on our trip. We were up early once we got to Seattle, as passengers were to be off the ship before 10am so that the crew can prepare for the next cruise.

 

 

The withdrawal from the past 7 days hit pretty quickly once I was back home, despite having to go to work the next day. However, I was able to see the ship again since it started a new route 2 weeks after my trip. One of the ports of call was in San Francisco, so it was very nice to see it again. Many of the staff that my family and I talked to had mentioned it would be their first time in the city, so we suggested they explore the area if they were given time since it would be a overnight stay.

 

img_20160919_124001.jpg
Visiting the ship at Pier 27.

Another awesome trip in the books for this year. Definitely looking forward to my next one.

3 thoughts on “Cruisin’ Alaska and BC – Part 2

  1. stashy September 29, 2016 / 6:32 am

    Wow, your ship was much bigger than the one we were on. We didn’t have an ice rink!
    I’ve been to BC but not to Victoria – it looks so nice! It’s a huge retirement community and I can see why.
    You mentioned that you’ve been on 3 other cruises – where else did you go and were they all on RC?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. RCubed September 30, 2016 / 11:59 pm

    Victoria is beautiful. I’ll really have to consider a return trip to check out their downtown area and see Butchart Gardens at night. Two of my other cruises (Baja, California and Mexican Riviera) have been on RC. My cruise to Hawaii was through Norwegian/NCL. They offer a more “freestyle” type of cruising where you pretty much do everything at your own pace, with the exception of certain types of entertainment the ship offers. A handful of people I know who’ve been on cruises seem to have a certain brand they’re drawn to. It all really depends on what you’re looking for (destination, duration, amenities, price, etc.).

    Liked by 1 person

    • stashy October 2, 2016 / 11:54 am

      We asked around a lot before we went our cruise and the top 3 recommended to us were Celebrity, Royal Caribbean and Norwegian. We wanted to go with Celebrity but they didn’t have any sail dates for 2016 to the place we wanted to visit. Good to know about Norwegian – I like the idea of freestyle cruising. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

