Generation Beauty – San Francisco

For those of you familiar with the ipsy subscription, the brand also holds an annual event which features brands they have included in their glam bags and opportunities to meet their stylists. Los Angeles is where Generation Beauty has been currently held, but this year they added San Francisco to their list. I didn’t jump on the chance right away, but eventually got a friend’s ticket since they wouldn’t be able to attend. Score!

The event was held at Pier 27 and lasted for 2 days. The line to get inside grew long as it grew closer to opening. The registration process was smooth and my group and I immediately went over to whatever booth didn’t already have a line forming. We were able to grab a custom makeup bag before checking out the other booths.

 

There was an appearance by a few of the ipsy stylists before they had their meet and greets. To see Michelle Phan address the crowd was something I’d never expect myself to witness. Very cool moment.

ipsycrew.jpg
L-R: Jaleesa Moses, Christen Dominique, Michelle Phan, Madelynn (aka Madewin), Desi Perkins, Karen Yeung (aka iamkareno), Cyndee Black, Lustrelux, Chrisspy (with the blue/green hair behind Lustrelux), and Gabriel Zamora

 

A special passport was given to each attendee, and it contained small coupons to be handed to various booths in the venue for free items. I’m not sure if I even got through half of the list, but others I wanted to check out constantly had their lines capped throughout the day. But even though I wasn’t able to get every freebie available, I did get a good amount and also got a gift bag. In fact, they gave out one gift bag for each day of the event that included different items from the sponsored brands. Sadly, I didn’t return for Day 2, but I was plenty content with whatever swag I received on Saturday.

 

Here are some of the giveaways I received:

 

And here’s the contents of Saturday’s gift bag (minus 2 items):

gbgbag.jpg

This event was enjoyable for me and my group in that we were to check out different beauty brands and take home some of their items to try out. What I’d like to see in the future, should it happen to return to SF next year, is a bigger venue. The turn out for this year is sure to present a possibility for that happening, and it would be nice to see slightly better crowd control. Some of the booths had lines that didn’t seem to move at all. Those that were more popular due to the brand (i.e. tarte and Jouer) were constantly announced “full”. It felt like I was at Comic-Con seeing volunteers hoist up signs saying that. The event itself is on a smaller scale compared to the likes of, say, IMATS or Beauty Con, so waiting in line will almost always be expected. The only one that was moving swiftly was for the booth handing out the gift bags. Patience is a virtue with this event, so it’s definitely not one to consider if you dislike lines in general or happen to be on a time crunch. Some attendees even had their significant others with them. If it’s not love being willing to wait in those queues for swag, then I really don’t know what is.

Despite the minor snags my group and I faced, we had a blast nonetheless and got our moneys worth.

2 thoughts on “Generation Beauty – San Francisco

  1. stashy November 17, 2016 / 11:57 am

    They had this in Toronto last year but I missed out. I might try to go next year! The loot bag looks like fun. I’m not sure if I’d want to line up for all those brands…

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed November 17, 2016 / 6:49 pm

      I would probably be more particular about which booths I’d like to visit if they’re back next year. But a gift bag for each day is pretty good by itself.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

