My Vegas Gastronomic Adventure

While the majority of my time in Vegas this month was focused on CES, I made it a point to check a few things off my list, and also returned to some favorite food places.

Before I even checked into my HQ for the weekend, my friend and I had a late lunch at Tacos El Gordo.  I actually visited the place 2 days in a row. I have my San Diego friends to thank for introducing me to it.The usual location I go to is located in a plaza across from the Wynn and Encore hotels. They were closed the following day, so we went to their off Strip location on Charleston Blvd. If you haven’t tried their tacos, I suggest that you do next time you’re in town. They’re reasonably priced and really, really good. There are separate lines for tacos inside the restaurant, depending on what your choice of meat is. My normal order consists of 1 each of the asada, lengua, and adobada. The latter is a very popular meat choice, and almost always has a line for it.  I switched things up and added the adobada fries during my 2nd visit. No regrets here. I kinda actually like it a bit more than carne asada fries, which is shocking because that’s what I always get when I’m in SD.

Despite stuffing my face with tacos, I still managed to eat more later in the evening. I had made reservations in advance for an early birthday dinner at Giada’s at the Cromwell. I was seated at the window overlooking The Strip. I heard you can also ask for a view of the Bellagio to see their fountain show if it’s available. The weather was rather windy that evening, so unfortunately it couldn’t be seen. There was an option to choose from either the regular dinner menu or the dinner tasting menu. I picked the former since it was my first time dining there. A plate of assorted breads was brought to my table before I placed my order. I chose the burrata and bacon wrapped dates to start. I have yet to meet a burrata I didn’t like. It had a nice creamy consistency that I happily spread on the parmesan crisps from the bread plate. What’s wrong with double the cheese? The dates were stuffed with Italian sausage and gorgonzola crema. Delish!

The short rib agnolotti with cacio e pepe (cheese and pepper) sauce was my main course. I noticed that portion sizes here aren’t overwhelming, which was good because I was pretty full by the time I finished this. But of course, I always manage to save a little room for dessert. I’d normally look for something with chocolate in it, but decided on something different with the Limoncello souffle. Good choice for me since it was light and went well with the green tea I ordered. Surprisingly my total for everything was under $100 with tax and tip. Good job, me. I’d love to come back here to try other items from the menu.

One of my friends had often mentioned Hikari, an all you can eat sushi place off the Strip, but we never got a chance to check it out. We made that a plan on the 3rd night of my trip and met up with a few more friends there. For just under $30, you can pick from a selection of sushi and appetizers. Our server checked on us frequently since we ordered a good amount of food. It’s easy to miss a meal when you’re in town for a convention, so I definitely got my fill from here. Quick service and great food sum up my first experience at this place. Might have to make this a CES tradition from here on out.

Two places that I’ve had my eye on since last year, Eggslut and Milk Bar, have recently opened at the Cosmopolitan. Based in Southern California, Eggslut is known for their breakfast sandwiches. The line for this place was expected, but I decided to pass by again later in the day since the length of it reached halfway down the hall towards the restroom. Business wasn’t as busy after 1pm, so I considered it a brunch stop. I got their bacon egg and cheese sandwich (hardwood smoked bacon, cage-free over medium egg, cheddar, chipotle ketchup in a warm brioche bun). I’ve had quite a few breakfast sandwiches, but not like this one. Everything meshed well together flavor-wise, and that runny egg. NOM.

Milk Bar is a popular spot from the East Coast. Their location at Cosmopolitan is one of the first in the West, so I was definitely excited to pay them a visit. In fact, I went there twice since I didn’t have a chance to get everything I wanted to try all at once. I went all out since I most likely wouldn’t find myself here again for a while. Their cereal milk soft serve with corn flake crunch topping, crack pie, corn cookie, and compost cookie are amazing. I have a few more of the cookies to try, but I’m sure they’re just as good, if not better.

I had dinner with relatives on my last night. Bachi Burger is one of the places I try to visit whenever I’m in town. My cousin ordered the oxtail chili cheese fries, which are a must try. The portion size of this is large enough to share with others. I made the mistake of ordering some to go a few years back and barely finished half of it. I normally order the Shogun Burger, which happens to be the most expensive one on their menu for a good reason. Instead, I tried their Kiki’s burger (angus beef patty topped with shiitake, enoki, and eryngii mushrooms, carmelized bacon, sweet onion marmalade, and gruyere, served with garlic chili aoli). Good stuff.

If you’ve made it this far in the post, thanks for reading about my pheNOMenal visit to Sin City. What restaurants in Vegas do you recommend? I’ll add them to my to-eat list for my next visit.

2 thoughts on “My Vegas Gastronomic Adventure

  1. stashy January 24, 2017 / 2:40 pm

    So. Much. Food.
    The Limoncello souffle looks incredible.
    We have a Milk Bar in Toronto, close to my work – the cornflake crumble is so good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed January 24, 2017 / 10:41 pm

      That would be dangerous if I lived there. I’d be there at least once a week. Gotta show some restraint. Heheh!

      Like

Leave a Reply

