Japan Crate Mini, Volume 19

The theme for January’s mini crate was Indulgence. The items in the crate were curated to make you “feel like royalty”. OK, that’s stretching it a tad, but I will say they were all pretty good.

 

20170120_123255-1.jpg

 

What’s inside:

 Double Ice Cream Lollipop, Chocolate & Vanilla – Ever had a Chupa Chups lollipop? This reminded me of it. They suggested putting it in the fridge prior to eating it to have an experience similar to having actual ice cream, but I was too lazy. Anyway, it was fine as is.

Fruit Donuts – This made me laugh. It basically looks like the Haribo gummy rings that I see almost everywhere. I thought this would be apple flavored, but it turned out to be lemon-lime.

Kajiriccho Grape & Soda Soft Candy – This chewy candy stick was grape flavored on the outside with soda flavor in the middle. I have yet to have a grape flavored candy that I didn’t like.

Umaibou Chocolate – The maker of those puffy snack sticks from previous boxes I’ve received also has sweet ones. This corn snack is covered in chocolate. Too bad it was smaller than the other sticks I’ve had. I finished this way too quickly.

Umai Ring Mentai Flavor – This product is also from the same company that makes the Umaibou sticks. Mentai is marinated fish roe, said to be popular in Japan. The resulting flavor is pretty unique, but I’d describe it close to the masago that often tops sushi rolls, if that helps at all.

 

The mini crate is 1 of 3 subscriptions available. Check out Japan Crate’s website for more information. If you choose to subscribe, you can get $5 off either your first Original or Premium box by using code MSA5 (code courtesy of My Subscription Addiction).

Leave a Reply

