Tagged: 15 Beauty Questions

It’s been ages since I’ve posted a blog tag! Hey Sharonoox put this up the other day, and I wanted to share my answers as well. I’ve also included links to the products I use.

 1. What is your daily skin care routine?

Morning – I cleanse my face with micellar water (Bioderma Sebium is my HG). Once dry, I apply Lush’s Grease Lightning on my T-zone. Last but not least is the moisturizer. I currently use one from Cetaphil.

Evening – If I’m feeling lazy (yes, it happens), I use micellar water again and that’s it. Otherwise, it’s either Cerave’s Foaming Facial Cleanser or The Body Shop’s Tea Tree face wash. This is followed by an eye cream (currently using the Redefine Multi-Function Eye Cream from Rodan + Fields) and my customized treatment from Curology (I’ll write a post about my experience with them in the near future).

2. What is your weekly skin care routine?

While in the shower, I’ll either use St. Ive’s Green Tea Scrub or my Clarisonic Mia with a foamy cleanser. Right now it’s the Naive Peach one. Just a little bit creates a good amount of lather. Love it!

Although I have quite a few sheet masks on hand, I don’t get around to using them. I’m lucky if I do that even once a month. I should also get back into using pore strips on a weekly basis.

 

 3. How do you prep your face for makeup?

Cleanse with either micellar water or facial cleanser, moisturize with Garnier Moisture Rescue Gel-Cream (another HG of mine), then apply primer. I alternate between primers for my face (Hourglass and Wet n Wild), and use Urban Decay’s Original Primer Potion for the eyes.

4. How do you take off your makeup?

For light makeup – This Garnier micellar water is great for removing waterproof mascara and liquid lipstick. I follow this with my Body Shop facial wash. Technically I don’t have to wash my face afterward, but seeing as this particular micellar water is bi-phase, I do feel somewhat of a residue after I’ve removed everything. This is why I only use it for this purpose and not on my whole face.

For a fully made up face – The eye makeup and lip color are the first to go with this awesome Clinique remover. Then I use Yes to cleansing wipes  for the rest of the face, followed by a facial cleanser.

5. What are some DIY face masks?

This is not an area of expertise for me, but I’ve tried one using egg whites, honey, and oatmeal. I honestly forgot what it helped with since I tried it a long time ago.

6. What are some inexpensive makeup brushes?

I’ve had my misses with this brand, but e.l.f. brushes are actually pretty good. Been reaching for their blush brush often when I actually take the time to apply makeup.

 7. Do you prefer matte or shimmer eyeshadows?

I am mad about matte when it comes to certain makeup products, but I don’t mind a little shimmer as long as it’s not overpowering or heavy. I own a few of Urban Decay’s shadow palettes, which have just the right amount.

Current fave: Urban Decay NAKED3 Palette

8. Do you prefer matte or dewy skin?

Having combo skin, I constantly keep my t-zone area in check (gotta love that midday oil slick *sarcasm*). I don’t mind a bit of dewiness on my cheeks since that area can get dry, especially during the cold months.

9. Do you prefer matte or shiny lipstick / lip gloss?

 With liquid lipsticks being recently high on the hype radar, I’ve been experimenting with a few brands. Majority of them are matte and tend to be drying, so I don’t usually wear them unless I’m not at work. Despite that, I’ll always have a devotion to glosses.

Current fave: Urban Decay Vice Liquid Lipstick in Amulet

 10. Lipstick, Gloss, Lip Stain, Balm, or Lip Liner?

 Lipstick for special occasions/when I feel like it.

Lip balm everyday, especially one with SPF.

Lip liner is a must for me before applying either tube or liquid lipstick.

Lip gloss whenever, if I happen to have it with me.

 

 

11. What type of coverage do you prefer from a foundation?

If I don’t have to use it, then I won’t. But I do have it on hand for special occasions. I prefer medium coverage. Otherwise, I prefer a BB cushion if I want enough coverage just to even out my face.

Current faves: Mary Kay TimeWise Matte-Wear Liqid Foundation, Laneige BB Cushion

12. What cosmetic brands have you always wanted to try, but haven’t?

I’ve grown interested in Korean beauty after trying out a few brands. Etude House and Holika Holika are on my list at the moment.

 

13. Do you wear fake lashes?

Hardly ever, but I own at least 5 pairs of them. I don’t have the best hand at applying them. Eyelure’s pre-glued lashes came in very handy  when I wore them along with my cosplays at SDCC. I don’t see them around much anymore.

 

14. What type of product do you buy the most of?

Easy, anything for the lips. I own more lip product than pairs of shoes or black items of clothing. Seriously!

15. Do you like trying new skincare products or do you keep a certain routine?

I’ll sometimes come across something from a trusted brand that I’d like to try out. I’d purchase it and either alternate using it with a similar product I already have, or finish the previous one beforehand.

I won’t be tagging anyone in this post, but I’d love to know your answers if you decide to fill this out as well.

 

2 thoughts on “Tagged: 15 Beauty Questions

  1. stashy February 22, 2017 / 4:35 pm

    I’ve heard such great things about the St. Ive’s Green Tea Scrub – I haven’t tried it yet. Would you say it’s a gentle scrub?
    I think there’s a happy medium between matte and dewy skin… it’s like a satin / natural look. That’s what I prefer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed February 22, 2017 / 6:27 pm

      Between the Green Tea and the Apricot scrubs, the former is less abrasive and definitely gentler. Yes, natural/satin finish is also my fave.

      Like

Leave a Reply

