Saving Face with Curology

For most of my young adult life, I’ve suffered from mild bouts of acne. Much of my breakouts would occur during “that time of the month”. Darn hormones! Late last year, my chin broke out the most, and it took longer than usual for that area to clear up. By then I figured it was time to look into something other than an over the counter regimen. I’ve tried out a few things in the past; some worked and others not so much. Then I saw a person I followed on Instagram post about Curology. They had a similar issue to what I had with acne, so being the curious person I usually am, I checked out the site.

How does Curology work?

There are a few steps to take prior to being introduced to the product:

  1. Take a medical questionnaire. Results of this will be sent to a healthcare provider who you will be able to communicate with during the course of your treatment.
  2. Upload photos of your face for your provider to examine. Based on your answers in the questionnaire, your your provider will prescribe your treatment. Once it’s confirmed, your product will ship.

Your treatment can be changed at any time. Just request another consultation with your provider. Formulations usually include 3 out of the following ingredients:

  • Clyndamycin
  • Azelaic Acid
  • Trentinoin (strength level will be determined by your provider)
  • Niacinamide
  • Vitamin C
  • Zinc Pyrithione

 

Plans start at $19.99/month and your treatment can either be received monthly or every 2 months. The bottle sizes differ depending on the plan you choose.

curbottles
L-R : Bi-monthly sized bottle (30ml) vs monthly sized bottle (14ml)

 

Love the simple packaging. Although I would stress to watch out with handling the cover because it tends to crack easily if you’re careless with it. The bottles are shipped with instructions on how to use the product. They are also labeled in the back with your customized prescription and an expiration date.

 

 

This has worked very well for my face within the past 8 months. However, I do have to confess that I’ve been inconsistent with it. Surely my face would probably look even better than it does now if I used it regularly.

 

I took the before photo in my bathroom and the current one outside. I’m bare faced in both with the exception of the lip color for the right. The lighting is drastically different between the 2, but it’s still easy to see that my chin has cleared up nicely.

If you’re interested in checking out Curology, you can do so by clicking here for a free trial. The process involves the same steps as mentioned above, except you only have to pay shipping for a month’s supply of product. After that, you can either cancel or continue treatment with the plan of your choice. I’d love to extend this invite to others outside of the US, but unfortunately they do not ship internationally. They are considering an expansion, so you’ll definitely hear from me if/when that happens.

2 thoughts on “Saving Face with Curology

  1. stashy May 15, 2017 / 11:38 am

    I’ve never heard of Curology but it sounds like a great targeted system. Your face looks a lot clearer! Did you need a doctor’s referral for it at all?

    Liked by 1 person

    • RCubed May 15, 2017 / 5:29 pm

      Thank you. I’m glad I finally found something that works. Although I know I still need to be more consistent with using it. Nope, no physician’s referral needed, which made the process that much easier.

      Like

Leave a Reply

